5 nations sign deal on Caspian Sea water, fishing rights

5 nations sign deal on Caspian Sea water, fishing rights

MOSCOW — Leaders of the five countries along the Caspian Sea have signed a convention aimed at ending decades-long uncertainty over exploitation of its resources.

The agreement signed Sunday in Aktau, Kazakhstan, by the presidents of Russia, Iran, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan, establishes rules for declaring each country’s territorial waters and fishing zones. But the issue of how the seabed, which contains rich oil fields, will be delineated between the countries remains subject to further negotiations.

The article you requested is no longer available on BostonHerald.com.
Click here to view this article in the Associated Press’ archive.

Related Articles

Iran receives more airplanes ahead of renewed US sanctions

Editorial: Let Trump be Trump

Trump says he would 'certainly meet' with Iran's Rouhani

Tags: Economic

Related posts

1 Comment

  • altyazili

    Posted February 4, 2021
    | Reply

    Excellent article. I certainly appreciate this website. Continue the good work! Doreen Shep Sadonia

Leave a Reply